25 Days of Christmas: Day One!

TODAY IS THE DAY!

I’ve been talking about it for literally forever. At least, that’s what it feels like. Thanksgiving was so late this year that our Christmas season was cut short and I am not okay with that šŸ˜¦ I’m so excited though. I can’t even explain it to you. I feel like Timmy Turner in the Christmas episode of the Fairly Odd Parents.

Image

Yup, that’s me. Forever ten years old.

Anyway, let me tell you a little bit about how this is going to work. These crafts and recipes are not going to be nearly as elaborate as some of them have been in the past (I’m lookin’ at you, cupcakes.) and they’re most likely going to be shorter posts. I can’t tell you for sure because I haven’t written a single one yet. I’m completely winging this whole thing. That also means that I can’t guarantee anything about posting time either, not that that’s ever been very stable. Before I dig myself into any holes here, let’s just get started šŸ™‚

For the big first day, I couldn’t decide whether to do a craft or a recipe, so I decided on a craft that looks like a recipe! šŸ™‚ Take a look:

Image

A cupcake ornament! Adorable, right? The pin that I got this from only took me to a Google search for ornaments, so I kind of had to figure it out for myself. It was pretty easy though. Here’s how I did it:

You’ll need:

A plain ornament- I got mine at A.C. Moore

White paint- I used my infamous washable kid stuff

Glue- Elmer’s glue worked just fine for me

Epsom Salt- I got lucky, my mom had a giant container of it. Don’t ask me why. I’d never even heard of the stuff, but apparently it’s great for digestive and skin problems. I’m thoroughly confused.

Glitter- preferably silver, but it’s really up to you

a little red pom pom or something you could use as a fake cherry. As you can see I opted out of this part

A cupcake liner- whatever color or design floats your boat

It looks like kind of a lot of stuff, but it’s all easily obtainable. Here’s what you have to do. Open the top of your plain ornament and start pouring paint inside of it. You can be generous, it doesn’t really matter how much is in there as long as you can cover the whole thing. Just swirl the ornament around until the paint is coating the whole inside. Here’s a picture of me doing that step.

Image

Next, drip glue around the top of the ornament. Make it look like frosting, whatever that means to you. I sort of made mine look like it was dripping around the center, but that doesn’t have to be your method. Then, you sprinkle Epsom salt all over the glue, so it’s coated well. Then do the same thing using glitter! Now you can ether add your cherry, or do what I did and just color the top of the ornament with a red sharpie.

Finally, just glue your cupcake liner to the bottom! You now have a super cute and personal ornament for your tree. I think a Christmas tree is so much more special when the ornaments mean something to the person or family. What better way to give the tree meaning than to make the ornaments yourself? šŸ™‚

I hope your Christmas season is off to a merry start šŸ™‚ I’ll see you guys tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

