Day Two: Snowflake Peppermint Bark

Good morning pinaholics 🙂

Day two of the Christmas Spectacular is dedicated to a cute, easy recipe for peppermint bark. Well, that’s what it was supposed to be. You can decide for yourself whether or not I failed miserably. Here’s what you need if you want to do it the right way:

White chocolate chips- the lady in the pin used Ghirardelli, but Nestle was like 30 cents cheaper so guess which one I used?

Milk chocolate chips- see above

Waxed paper- I think parchment paper might work as well but if it doesn’t, don’t blame me.

About 12 crushed candy canes- I used mini ones and guesstimated, it worked out fine and you can always crush more if you need to.

A cookie sheet

A snowflake cookie cutter- or whatever shape you want your bark to be

Peppermint extract- this is debatable seeing as how I did it without it, but the recipe calls for it so you might as well use a couple drops if you have it

Okay, let me start by saying that the snowflake shape did NOT end up working out for me, and I would’ve had to take on an entirely different method if I wanted to incorporate that. So, even though the title says “Snowflake Peppermint Bark,” I’m going to tell you how I ended up making plain peppermint bark, and then I’ll tell you what I would’ve had to do to get the cute snowflake. Or at least, what I think I would’ve had to do. Take a look at my horrendous snowflake attempts:

 IMG_2188[1] IMG_2187[1]

Ugh. Anyway, first, line your cookie sheet with parchment or waxed paper. Then, melt your milk chocolate chips in the microwave for however long it takes to get them completely smooth. Spread them across your cookie sheet, and refrigerate that for about 20 minutes. When that’s done, take it out and repeat the process with your white chocolate chips. If you’re using the peppermint extract, add it to the melted white chocolate before you put it on. Also, heads up on this part: unless you use significantly more white chocolate than milk, it’s not going to look perfect. The hot white chocolate melts the cooled milk chocolate and the colors will mix a little bit. It’s okay. I was worried at first when I looked at mine:

IMG_2185[1]

But they all sort of look like that on Pinterest so it’s no big deal. Before you refrigerate it for the second time, add your crushed candy canes to the top. Then put it in the fridge for another 20 minutes, and voila! You have peppermint bark. Now, here’s where my fatal flaw was. I thought it was going to be a really easy thing to just use the cookie cutter and stamp out snowflakes. Well, it’s not easy. The bark will crack, and you’ll have a million tiny pieces of chocolate that look nothing like a snowflake 😦 I ended up just breaking it all into pieces that look like everyone else’s peppermint bark and calling it a day. It tastes great. In fact, I think it’s one of the most delicious things I’ve made, but it just isn’t cute 😦

What I probably would’ve had to do to get the snowflake shape is use the cookie cutter to shape the melted chocolate before I refrigerated it. That means I either would’ve had to have several cookie cutters or several hours to spare, neither of which were available to me. If they’re available to you, that’s awesome! Send me pics of your not-failed attempts at peppermint bark, and I’ll be sure to feel bad about myself. Send me packages with your actual peppermint bark and I’ll feel a little bit better. Here’s a picture of the final product! I put it in this cute little Christmas box to bring back to school for my friends to try 🙂

IMG_2216[1]

Happy holidays, loves!

Nicole ♥

One thought on “Day Two: Snowflake Peppermint Bark

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Cookie Bark | Camp Riverbend

Leave a Reply

