Day 8: Reindeer in the Dark Christmas Card

Happy Day 8! Who woulda thought I’d be able to actually get a post out on the right day?

Today, I decided to try one of the cutest Christmas cards I’ve ever seen. I’m actually writing this post as I do the craft, so I’m going to be just as surprised as you by what happens. Live crafting: the actual dictionary definition of intense.

Alright, so here’s a picture of all of my supplies. Image

And there’s a little cameo by the peppermint tree from the other day 🙂 sitting on top of my wireless router that doesn’t work. I thought maybe I’d put some joy there to balance out the burning frustration that thing brings me.

Anyway, I’m undecided as to whether or not I should color the whole thing black first, or if I should do the ribbon around the edge first and then color it. By the way, if you have something better than a sharpie to color the WHOLE page black (well, the half that’s going to be the front of the card) feel free to use it. Actually, feel privileged rather than free. Think of me developing carpal tunnel syndrome as you paint your whole paper in a few brush strokes.

I made the executive decision to color first and then add ribbon, and I declare this to be good enough of a coloring job.

Image

Now I just finished adding the ribbon on, and I think it looks pretty cute but I used this stuff that’s not really “ribbon,” it’s “decorative trim” so it’s got a wire in it and that sparkly tinsel stuff wrapped around it. It was hard to glue down, but I think I finally got it. Regardless, I know it would work if you use regular ribbon and glue so just be careful of what you buy and you’ll be fine.Image

Now it’s time for googly eyes!

Image

And the final touch!!

Image

Tell me that’s not the cutest thing you’ve ever seen?? I love it! It’s one of those things that’s so simple but has such a big affect!

Well, this wraps up the first week of the 25 Days of Christmas, and quite appropriately, it’s been snowing all day. It’s so sweet. Last year, we somehow managed to get no snow at all at my school. This is the first time I’ve seen my campus completely coated and it’s beautiful. Take a look at the view outside my window!

Image

Those people outside are so brave though. I’m quite content sitting in my cozy dorm listening to Glee holiday songs and writing to my lovely readers. No cold for me.

Well, that’s it for me tonight. I hope everyone has a wonderful week. For anyone who is starting finals tomorrow:

Image

Love,

Nicole ♥

One thought on “Day 8: Reindeer in the Dark Christmas Card

  1. Pingback: Day 19: Christmas Present Pop-Out Card | Pinebriated

Leave a Reply

