Day 9: Paper Cutouts are Classier Than You Think

Well, probably not but I’m still gonna try to convince you.

Today I’m going to show you some things that helped brighten up my dorm room for the holidays, and all it took was printer paper, sharpies and scissors. And technically a pencil and a hole punch and stencils and thumb tacks and glitter BUT that’s not important. The important thing is that if you have a normal functioning desk, you probably have 98.3% of these objects. That’s an actual statistic that I worked out. Trust me, I’m a psych major. We do a lot of statistics.

Take a look at what I did with primarily regular paper:

Image Image

I’m thinking of making a snowman and a Christmas tree to go on either side of the word “merry,” but I also only have two days left of school before Winter Break, so I feel like it would be a little bit pointless to add more decor.

The point of this post is that you can make decorations for literally zero dollars. Technically, I didn’t even use stencils. I know this is absolutely terrible and you’re never supposed to do this, but I did it super lightly so it’s okay. I just found the images I needed online and traced them on top of my computer :O :O :O

I know you’re not even supposed to touch your screen. You probably shouldn’t do what I did. Hopefully you’re talented and can draw what you need. But as you can see, I got a pretty classy looking ornament out of that, and I was also able to make those cute letters, which would look much better if that empty wall wasn’t so gigantic.

I’m thinking tomorrow that I’ll make some paper snowflakes to show you. I can hang them from my ceiling and leave them up all winter, like my roommate and I did last year! 🙂 It’s another thing that has such a dramatic effect on a room and all you need is paper and scissors. I’ll see you tomorrow for that project!

Leave a Reply

