Day 16: Spiral Sugar Cookies

Well, this afternoon I took a chance on one of the more complicated recipes that I’ve tried. It was this version of festive sugar cookies, but I adapted it to make a Christmas version.

25 Days of Christmas 2013 Day 16

From “Make Bake Celebrate” blog

So the first step in this recipe is to make sugar cookie dough, and form it into a log, like so:

Image

Obviously, I made this dough all by myself with no help from a certain chubby white guy who giggles at the slightest poke. No help whatsoever.

Set the dough on parchment paper. The next step is to cut the log into four equal pieces, and roll them into balls. Then, dig a hole into the center. You’re going to put some food coloring into those holes, which just helps to keep most of the dye off of your hands (key word: most).Mix it all up, and you should end up with four balls of dough that look something like this:

Image

Now, take off little chunks about the size of a quarter, or maybe a taaad smaller, but not by much. This recipe was made for a cookie with four colors, so it was a little odd to do it with two. You should have two little green balls and two little red balls, and they should be arranged in a little square with alternating colors. Now, roll it into one ball! Do this until you run out of dough. Here was my set of balls:

…hehe

Image

I guess I don’t know what the size of a quarter is because as you can see, I had a rather significant problem with keeping them all a similar size. I think the bigger ones were better to work with. Once all of these little balls have been made, I’m sure the dough has become really soft and greasy. To solve this, you can put them in the freezer for a little while to harden them back up. They’re easier to work with when the dough is harder. The blog that I originally got this from said that you can put them in for 1-2 minutes, but that didn’t work for me. I needed to put them in for more like 5-6. Once they were hardened, it was time to do the coiling. Roll out the balls into long rope-kinda things, and then roll them back up into a cute spiral shape, trying to expose both colors. If you’re confused, you have every right to be. These were my first couple of attempts:

Image

It got a little easier though, as I got the hang of it.

Image

They started to get sticky again, so when I was done coiling all of them, I had to put them in the freezer again. Then, I put them in the oven, and I was kind of excited. I didn’t know how they were going to come out at ALL.

Image

As I was checking up on them, I noticed they were getting bigger and consequently closer together…until they were all squished together and they came out looking like this:

Image

And to be honest, they all came out looking like an odd reddish greenish soup. They taste fine, but they don’t look nearly as cute as the picture at the top of the page. They’re also really skinny, so the sprinkles from the picture didn’t really work out. I guess to make this recipe better I would have had to be more careful when I smooshed them all up from the separate little balls. It also might have helped to not wait so long to put them in the freezer when they were getting greasy.

Well, hopefully you guys have better luck with this recipe. And also, there are less than 10 days left of the Christmas Spectacular! Hope you’ve enjoyed it so far!

Love,

Nicole♥

Leave a Reply

