Day 19: Christmas Present Pop-Out Card

Hi, pinaholics!

For day 19 I’m going to show you one of my favorite Christmas cards. It’s based on this one here, but I had to change it a little bit because of my available supplies, or lack thereof.

Image Search Results for diy christmas cards

Basically, for this one you just need two pieces of card stock, scissors and whatever else you want to decorate with. I used colored pencils and my very favorite: glitter! 🙂 Here’s what you have to do:

First, you take one of your pieces of paper and cut about a half inch off of each side. This will be your inside piece that stays white. Then take your other piece, and color it however you choose. I liked the red, so I made mine red too, but I didn’t have red paper so  I colored mine with colored pencil the same way I did when I made the Reindeer in the Dark Card on Day 8. For Day 20, I get a little smarter, and you may have already come up with this idea if we’re in the same predicament, but if I have to be stupid until the next post, so do you.

Once your bigger piece of paper is colored to your liking, we start cutting. Or rather, measuring and drawing and then cutting. It gets a little bit tricky to explain here, so pay close attention. Take your small paper and fold it in half vertically (hot dog style, if you will). Then, draw this on the outside of it, on the creased side, and make that cut on the top if you want a little bow at the top of your presents.

Image

I made each present a half inch wider and longer than the last present. You don’t have to do it that way, but it worked out pretty perfectly for me. Next, you start cutting. Cut along the whole top line that you drew. And then see how the next line down is longer because it’s the top of the second present? Only cut up to where the END of the FIRST present would be. This picture might help you get it:

Image

Now, open up the card. See where the crease is? Re-fold the crease in the opposite direction, and crease the ends of the present so it has crisp edges. It’ll look like this:

Image

Look at your first present! How cute, right? Now, fold it back up, and we’ll do the second and third ones. You see how when you fold it back up, all that’s left of that top line of the second present is the part that we didn’t cut before? Now is the time to finish that line. Then, cut the next line down all the way to the end, just like the first line you cut. Open the card up again, do the same folding you did for the first one, and now you’ll have two presents! Repeat those steps again, and you’ll have three, just like this!

Image

The last major step is to glue the small piece of paper to the larger, colored piece of paper. Then, it’s up to you to decorate it however you want to! this is what I did with mine, and I love it!

Image

So that’s Day 19! Only six more days of the 25 Days of Christmas Craftactular. I just made that up right now. My God, I’m clever. Just come to me when it’s time to name your children.

Well, if that doesn’t scare you away, I guess nothing will, so I’ll see you on Day 20.

Love,

Nicole ♥

Leave a Reply

