Day 20: Christmas Tree Pop-Out Card

For Day 20, I took on another pop-out card, but with a different style from yesterday’s. Remember those paper fans you used to make in the summer when you were a kid? You’d fold a piece of paper back and forth a bunch of times until you had one of these?

Well, this card is based on that exact same thing. Here’s the pin I based mine off of:

DIY: 3-D christmas tree card - Click image to find more DIY & Crafts Pinterest pins

See what I mean about the fans? This looked super easy until I realized that I had no way of really being able  to measure how big each fan should be. That was my biggest struggle with this project. But, lets start from the beginning, shall we? I promised you that I would tell you about my page-coloring breakthrough today. 

All you need for this project is card stock, regular printer paper, scissors, and some method of coloring the pieces. Instead of using colored pencils this time, I went to Microsoft Word on my computer and created a text box that filled the entire page. Then, there’s a button that says “shape fill,” and you click on it and choose the color that you want. I really liked the pale yellow that the pinner used in the example pin above, so I used a similar one. Then, all you have to do is print the page! It uses a lot of ink, but it saves us all from getting carpal tunnel so it may be worth it in the end. 

Now comes the fan part. Here’s what I ended up doing: I used the same coloring method to get a green piece of paper, and now I’ll show you with pictures. I’m not live crafting today, so I’ll be showing you with another piece of plain white printer paper. 

Fold it into 8 pieces, like this, by folding it in half, half, half, etc. Image

You’ll cut off one of these strips for your first fan, and then make it. That’ll give you your littlest top piece. Then cut off one and a half strips and do the same thing. Then two, then two and a half, then three, etc until you have five fans. That’s really all there is to it! Then you just glue them to your piece of card stock, and you can add a trunk and a star if you’re so inclined. Here’s a picture of my finished product, and I love it! It’s one of my favorite crafts that I’ve done because it almost looks like I could have bought it somewhere. Now all I need to do is put something on the front of it!

Image

 

Love, 

Nicole♥

Leave a Reply

