Easy Feta Dip

So, I went to a work party last night, which sounds like it should be lame, but not with my co-workers! Most of us have only known each other for the summer, but we all hit it off so well that we decided to throw a party before we go back to our separate colleges. Some of us will be back for Winter Break, and some for summers too, but others are hoping to be onto big and better things by next summer, so it was important that we have this night together. And look how much fun we had!

IMG_4547[1] IMG_4548[1] IMG_4549[1] IMG_4554[1] IMG_4555[1]

They’re just the coolest people, and I can’t believe I only have a week left with them!

Anyway, the part that you guys care about. My best friend, who was the one having the party, asked me to make an appetizer and a dessert to bring over. I knew which dessert I would bring; I have a recipe for lemon coconut bars that people ask me for every time I bring them somewhere! They’re great for summer because they’re sweet but very light and refreshing. I love them! The appetizer recipe was a little harder to decide on though, because I didn’t already have a tried-and-true one to use. I browsed Pinterest, because duh, what else would you do in this situation?

I picked out this “easy feta dip” because, well, it was easy. And I could blog about it. And also, because it seemed like something that my friend who was having the party would like. Here’s what the recipe in the pin was:

 

  • about 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 3 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 4-5 green onions, sliced thinly
  • 8 ounces feta cheese, crumbled (see Note)
  • 2-3 teaspoons Cavender’s Greek seasoning
  • fresh baguette, sliced thinly

(credit goes to: The Girl Who Ate Everything)

Here’s what happened when I did it:

Well, I had to prep the night before, because I was going to be out the whole day of the party. So, I sliced the tomatoes, which was easy enough. Then, I learned how to slice green onions courtesy of a Youtube video. If you don’t feel like watching, it basically says that the light part of the onion is for cooking and the dark part is used for garnishing dishes. You can kind of tell, because the part that you cook with has layers like a teeny tiny regular onion, and the dark part is less substantial (more leafy). 

I also couldn’t find Cavender’s Greek Seasoning at my local grocery store. I’ve never even heard of Cavender’s before. Instead, I Googled what’s in Greek seasoning, and made it myself. If you have the same problem, here’s what’s in it:

  • 1 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp thyme (I only had about 1/4 tsp of thyme; it didn’t ruin anything)
  • 1/2 tsp dried marjoram
  • 1/2 tsp dried minced onion
  • 1/4 tsp dried minced garlic

That was all the prep that I did the night before. I put all of the separate ingredients in Ziploc bags and put them in the fridge until it was time to go to the party. I also brought my bread and container of feta cheese, which was only a 6 oz container. I thought that was better than 8 oz because feta is so strong.

When I got there, I put the tomatoes, green onions and seasoning all in one Ziploc bag and shook it up. If you’re wondering, I forgot to measure the amount of seasoning that was actually supposed to go into the dip recipe, and just dumped the whole serving of the seasoning recipe into the bag. It’s actually only slightly more than what the dip recipe calls for, so it didn’t make much of a difference. Then, I put the feta in, and mixed it again. However, in the heat of the moment, 6 oz seemed like a huuuge amount, and I ended up only using half of that. 

THEN, it was time to make it pretty. The recipe called for olive oil to coat the bottom of the serving dish, but I actually forgot to bring it, so I simply didn’t use it, and I think it was better that way anyway. Personally, I think the olive oil would have made it too wet and goopy. This way, it looked fresh. I dumped the contents of the Ziploc bag into a nice bowl, and placed the sliced bread around it. Voila! A beautiful, easy appetizer that, from start to finish, took about a half hour to make. 

IMG_4542[1]

 

If I were to try this recipe again, I would probably toast the bread with olive oil and a little garlic instead of using plain Italian/French bread. Other than that, it was delicious! This is the first appetizer in my recipe box!

 

 

One thought on “Easy Feta Dip

  1. For the bread, buy a RAW (very important) French baguette, slice it about 3/8″ – 1/2″ thick, brush with a little olive oil, put it on one of those aluminum cookie sheets, set the oven to broil, cook on top rack for 5-10 minutes checking often, because once it goes too far it’s ruined and once you smell it it’s too late. Don’t use a cooked baguette because it burns very quickly and is difficult to get just right. Cut the slices on a diagonal (on the bias) for a fancier look that probably no one will notice.

Leave a Reply

